Art macabre life drawing event October 2016

on a rainy mid October evening I attended an art macabre organised event of the historic cutty sark ship in Greenwich.image

Art Macabre run unusual life drawing events fusing history with interesting themed life drawing saloons. Almost creating a  colourful tableau setting. The cutty sark event had a sea theme with a mermaid, an opera singing ships figurehead and the captain posing with tea chests. There was so much to draw that I didn’t get to draw the mermaid. I found the way that the models were posed very imaginative and unusual and I will definitely attend other art macabre sessions.

I used my A4 sketchbook, watercolour pencils and a Pental mechanical lead pencil – I enjoyed sketching the Opera singer as it was a opportunity to add movement to figure drawing. On the whole I was fairly pleased with my drawings although I feel I work better with larger paper when figure drawing – as I tend to find fitting the figure on the paper very challenging.

Leave a Reply

