Drawing one – assignment 5 – final assignment personal project – exploring the structure & form of the figure – self portrait

I found exploring self portraiture very challenging and I have struggled with it. I found drawing my own face very difficult and not something I enjoy – so I was determined to really try and produce some work that I feel happy with. I was also determined to explore structure and form to add dimension to my drawing but also to inject an element of creativity to this project. I am not concerned with capturing an perfect likeness but to capture an essence of my personality.   I spend a couple of weeks experimenting with basic drawings of my face using line and tone in my sketchbook  – I used  graphite pencil, marker pens, coloured pencil, and wash. I was chiefly concerned with  Looking at shapes, forms and tonal values. I found drawing the nose the most challenging and I also struggled with  trying conveying a sense of

movement to my sketches. I looked at mark making and lines. I was looking at capturing the blocks and planes of my facial structure

Leave a Reply

