Drawing one – part 4 – the face and figure- project 4 – structure -excercise 2 – three figure drawings – part 1 seated figure

exercise 3 is concerned with producing some figure studies to demonstrate some understanding of basic structural principles

This is my seated figure – studies

I worked from a male nude at a local class. I did some brief quick 2 minutes sketches in pencil and graphite in my sketchbook- I also did a 15 minute tonal sketch as I found the models arms quite challenging.

on a A1 piece of paper  I did a 20 minute sketch using coloured inks and a brush plotting the basic structure of the figure – I decided to change the position of my easel and did  45 minute conte crayon drawing using the crayon and a putty rubber to hi light tonal values – I also included the stool which helped me with the proportions of the figure as the stool was s useful measuring tool.

I  found this exercise a useful challenge and feel I really need to develope my figure drawing.

Leave a Reply

