Drawing one – part 3 -.project 5 – Townscapes – exercise 2 -study of Townscape in pen / ink

For this exercise I used heavy paper and I used a brush and ink diluting my ink to produce tonal values.

I chose for my subject the row of houses where I live. I t was 6pm just before sunset. The clouds were various shades of orange, yellow and purple. I did two sketches of the basic composition and shapes in my sketchbook also  I wrote some notes . It was a challenging drawing as there was a two point perspective so I had to keep changing and checking my horizontal and vertical lines.

I am not sure whether my drawing works as I am not sure that I captured the depth of tone. I also found the parked cars a major challenge. But having said that it was an interesting exercise,

Leave a Reply

