Drawing one part 3 larger observational study of an individual tree

For this exercise I drew a detailed drawing in pencil of a tree. Again it was a cold frosty late January morning in Greenwich park. Using textured paper and 2b and 6b pencil I drew an interesting shaped mature chestnut tree. I spend an hour plotting the forms and adding tonal values – I feel that I could have spend some more time but after an hour the cold had made my hands too stiff to draw anymore. I feel that my sketch was an okay attempt but feel I may re-visit this project.

image.jpeg

Leave a Reply

