Exercise 4 interiors line and wash

imageThe idea is to experiment using different media to create line and wash.

I decided to draw in the kitchen – I was going to draw the gas oven but I was drawn to the shapes and reflections made by the two saucepans on top of the glass cooker top.

i began by using a black Pitt pen drawing quick outlines – I used the continuous line technique drawing without moving the pen from the page.

once I had warmed up I drew again with pen onto textured watercolour paper. Once I was happy with my drawing using black drawing ink and a brush I did several washes mapping out the various tones adding water to dilute the ink as required. Once I had finished I used small amounts of white paint to hi light where the light fell on the dark areas of the saucepans.

overall I am quite happy with my drawing I am new to using drawing ink so do feel I still need to master some techniques and will need to practice some more with producing washes.image

Leave a Reply

