Exercise 3 -experiment with mixed media

For this project I was inspired by contemporary artist Kim Kira who has produced still life of discarded fast food cartons, and Andy Warhol’s soup paintings – but although inspired by these artists I wanted to make my drawing my own – which I feel I managed to do.image.jpeg

i started by drawing some discarded Macdonalds fast food cups and an empty chip container I drew the paper cups in my sketchbook using coloured pencils. I then photocopied the sketches in colour and cut them out. I made the chip container out of red paper. I found in a magazine a colour page spread of a food advert which I cut out and pasted on cartridge paper. I placed the cups and chip carton onto the collage background. Then I used  oil pastels  to hi light tone and to add some interest and depth to the collage foreground

i think overall my design worked quite well.

Leave a Reply

