Exercise one- using markers or dip ink pen

For this exercise I decided to use marker pen. I used Tombrow pens and spectrum noir pens.

I started off by doing three compositional drawings in my sketchbook and trying out the colours and writing notes.

using A4 white card I recreated two of the compositions using the marker pens.

i found that my drawings seemed to be very flat as a medium although I used blendable pens the pens tended to bleed into each other. Although the colours were fairly bright and vibrant t felt that they would be better suited to a graphic style of drawing – I did enjoy trying them out but feel they would be better suited as a tool  to gather quick colour studies – I have worked outdoors and feel these would be ideal when on location to gather basic colour information.

imageimageimageimageimage.jpeg

Leave a Reply

