Exercise 4 – shadows and reflected light

image

Above – pencil drawing of two shiny objects

For this exercise I choose two metallic objects a metal bowl and a silver coloured candle holder. Using a conte stick I lightly sketched the two objects – I drew onto thick paper that had a raised texture. The object of the exercise is to build up tone using the side of the conte crayon and  then to use a putty rubber to lift out the lightest tone. I found this exercise a real challenge and really struggled with my drawing so much so that I felt it was completely over worked. After struggling I did a pencil sketch of two  other shiny objects also on textured  paper – I also drew in my sketchbook some glass animals using a Pitt pen and graphite stick. I still feel I struggled with this  exercise – so feel I will have to revisit it.

image

Metal bowl and silver coloured candle holder – conte crayon on A3 textured paper

Leave a Reply

